A Restricted Account is a (restricted) Network member who is only able to see a subset of your Network's Spaces and members. A restricted user will not be able to browse the Network's Spaces (Discover is disabled) or join any Spaces on their own — they must be invited by a Space Manager once a Space is designated/approved as an Open Space for Restricted Accounts.
Below are FAQs about Restricted and Guest Accounts.
- What is a Single-Space Guest?
A Single-Space Guest or Guest Account is a type of Restricted Account that can only access a single Space. A Guest Account has no further permissions and cannot access anything within the network (except the assigned Open Space).
- How can I create new Restricted Accounts?
Only Administrators and Owners can create Restricted Accounts.
- Can we change an existing account to a Restricted Account?
Administrators and Owners can switch existing accounts to Restricted Accounts or Single-Space Guests in Manage Members.
- What messages and files can a Restricted Account see?
Restricted Accounts, including Single-Space Guests, can see the entire message history for all of their Open Spaces. They will also be able to see all files shared into those Spaces.
- Can Restricted Accounts send direct messages?
Users with Restricted Accounts, including Single-Space Guests, can send direct messages to anyone they can see — that is, anyone who is currently in one of their Open Spaces (regular members of the Network will be able to see Restricted and Guest users.)
Important Information about Restricted and Guest Accounts
- Space Owners and Managers cannot invite Restricted and Guest Account members to their Spaces until it is designated/approved as an Open Space.
- Network Owners and Admins can enable Restricted Account and Guest Account for a Space (via Manage my Network), which will allow Space Managers to invite members with Restricted Account or Guest Account privileges to their Spaces. This action will designate an enterprise Space as an “Open Collaboration” within a private network.
- All members of an Open Space will receive a notification/warning that their Space is marked as an Open Space, enabling Restricted and Guest Account access.
- Network Owners and Admins can further configure Restricted Account access.