Groups help unite network members for a common purpose, goal, or activity within a network. For instance, Marketing can create a group to allow them to see the activities of all the network members that belong to the Marketing Department or create a smaller, more focused Marketing Group for a particular marketing campaign.
Remember the following rules about groups.
- Only a Network Administrator can create a Group.
- Groups are listed on the Network Directory.
- Network members can join groups by invitation or through the Network Directory.
- You can send a message to an entire Group through the Network Directory.
Network Administrators can create two types of Network Groups
Network Group - Private
This is a Network-wide Group created by a Network Administrator but is private to the members of this group. Only members of this group can use its handle in a mention. Members of a Private Network Group will see their group name when mentioned.
Network Group - Public
This is a Network-wide Group created by a Network Administrator and is available and visible to anyone within the network. All members of the network can see this group's handle whenever it is used as part of a network-wide mention.
To create new Groups on your private network, follow the steps below.
- Click Manage my Network from your Profile menu.
- On the Manage my Network page, click Manage, then Groups.
- All the Groups already created are listed on the right. You can choose to make a Group available to the entire network by toggling the ON/OFF button to the right of each group.
- Additionally, you can see other settings for the group, including Status, Category, and how the group is mentioned on the Network.
- Clicking the downward-facing arrow on the rightmost will allow you to Edit or Delete the group.
To Create a New Group
To create a new Group, follow the steps below.
- Click the Add Groups button at the top of the Manage tab. Alternatively, go directly to the Add Groups tab.
- Enter the required information, then click the Create button at the bottom of the page.
When creating a group, consider the following fields:
- Title - What you want the Group to be called.
- Description - What is the purpose of your group. The description of your Group is summarized on the Network Directory so having a good description might encourage more members to join your Group.
- Tags - Tags help to create bonds between your Group and other content on your network.
- Access - Choose whether this group is available to everyone on the network or to keep the Group private to only the members within the Group. Private groups are not listed on the Network Directory.
- Category - How do you want your Group to be organized on the network?
- Mention - How and when do you want this group to be mentioned on the network? You can choose to allow all users mention the Group, only members to mention the Group, or turn off mentions for the group. Keep in mind, mentioning a Group will send alert to all of its members.
- Manager - Allow specific group members to Manage the group, including changing any of the information listed above.
- Membership - Network members can freely join the Group or must be approved by a manager before they have access to the Group.
- Messaging - Allow network members to message all the members in the Group. This option is available through the Network Directory.