Who can use this feature?
Anyone can create Personal Groups, only admins can create Network Groups.
Groups help unite team members for a common purpose, goal, or activity within a network. For instance, Marketing can create a group to allow them to see the activities of all the network members that belong to the Marketing Department or create a smaller, more focused Marketing Group for a particular marketing campaign.
Take note of the following when it comes to Groups.
- Only a network administrator can create Network Groups.
- Network Groups are listed on the People Directory.
- Personal Groups are listed in your Notebook.
- Network members can join groups by invitation or through the People Directory.
- You can send a message to an entire Group through the People Directory.
Your private network may have three types of Groups, namely:
This is a Private Group that you create, from within your Notebook, for your own purposes only. When mentioning a Personal Group, only you can see the group handle. Other members of the group will see their names listed.
For example, Group R&D has three members - Carly, David, Steven. You mention that Group in an Update: "@R&D Please take a look at these specs." Members of that group will see your update as "@Carly @David @Steven Please take a look at these specs."
Network Group - Private
This is a Network-wide Group created by a Network Administrator but private to the members of the group. Only group members can use its handle in a mention. Members of a Private Network Group will see their group name when mentioned.
Network Group - Public
This is a Network-wide Group created by a Network Administrator and available and visible to anyone within the network. All members of the network can see this group's handle whenever it is used as part of a network-wide mention.